Video Games

I’m taking a break from writing updates about how the book is going. Not everyone wants to know how slowly it’s coming along. So I’m going to post about something I love for a change: video games. Some of you already know I’m an avid gamer. I could list my conquests but that would take forever. Let’s just say I’ve been playing since the Master System was brought home. PC games, console games, it didn’t matter what I played. One of my favourite genres is the open-world game: GTA, Elder Scrolls, Fallout. These game define story-telling with their unique ability to let you decide the quest.

But there are so many games that I just find myself stuck for what to play next. Recently I’ve exhausted myself on Project Zomboid, the open-world survival sim set in a post-apocalyptic town. Its epic scope and endless re-playability have never failed to entertain. But more recently I’ve moved to a game I never got to play when it came out: Fallout: New Vegas. I slammed through Fallout 3 like a man born to tear through the Wasteland. So much so that I reckon I could survive in a post-apocalyptic world. Though, I hope it never comes to that.

Another favourite is the Elder Scrolls series. An amazing game set in a fantasy world full of different races, hierarchy, history, conflict, and even some humour. It’s not all swords and sorcery. I particularly like in the last game that they parodied The Hangover, leaving me to roam Skyrim trying to work out what had happened.

I also had an odd thought of buying a Mega Drive off Ebay just so I could play some of my old favourites: Streets of Rage, Golden Axe, Altered Beast, Shinobi, Road Rash.

So, now you know. I’m a video game nerd.

Leave a Reply

