NaNoWriMo is closing in…

It’s coming to that time of the year again, November. A time for us authors and budding writers and enthusiasts to write your heart out in a month long endeavor to create something wonderful. I love NaNoWriMo, it’s a source of inspiration and helped me finish my first book and start the Kingmaker Saga. It isn’t a walk in the park by any means, it’s a tough old experience. A month long race toward the finishing line and all that stands in your way is 50,000 words. Sounds amazing, right?

I’m going to try and participate this year. Though I can’t say for definite that I will. In order to meet the pre-order requirements for Kingdomfall the manuscript must be sent in by the 11th of November. I know it gives me plenty of time, but I also have to double and triple check it before it can be sent off. Sometimes I think giving myself a deadline was a great idea, other times I think ‘WHAT HAVE I DONE?’

But I did make it through last years NaNo, so I have experience in that field. The pace of writing is unbelievable and you have to take it as a marathon, this sort of thing isn’t a race. If you start you have a month to finish. If you don’t finish within a month, big deal. You’ll be among thousands of others who couldn’t either because of genuine reasons like work or family life. I know how you all feel, sometimes life can get to you. So if you don’t finish within a month, don’t give up all together, finish it eventually. The important part is that NaNoWriMo gets you started.

So get sharpening your pens and powering your laptops, It’s just over a month away.

Leave a Reply

