June Update

May was an awesome month for my writing. I smashed through my targets while at work and managed to type my way through to chapter 48 of Kingdomfall. Who knew it would be that good? Me. I knew. Since getting this new job, I’ve had a renewed vigour. So, I just thought I’d update you on where I am.

KingdomfallNew

Chapter 48 brings a characters involvement for book 2, to a close. Their arc finishes and also foreshadows the events of book 3. There’s a lot going on. But it’s since I’ve been thinking about book 3 that I came up with the concept of where I want it to go. Book 2 isn’t finished yet, not by a long shot. I still have a few redrafts left to do, but I know where book 3 starts.

Book 3 starts seventeen years later. Things will have changed significantly in some areas, some will have stayed the same. I’m excited for where it’s going. I can see more of the story than I have ever done before. Normally I’m a pantser. Yeah, that’s right, I write by the seam of my pants. Well… trousers. I’m English. George R. R. Martin would also call me a gardener rather than an architect. I plant the seeds and see what happens. I love writing this way, I get to explore my characters more, see how they react. Don’t get me wrong, there are still some things I have to plan out. I just lean more towards gardener.

So that’s my June update, so far. A couple of chapters left and a rewrite of a few to go. Let’s smash this out.

Leave a Reply

